History of the Southern Badminton Association

The Southern Badminton Association was first organized on October 30, 1938.  The formation of the SBA was organized by Mr. W. Hamilton Walter, President of the American Badminton Association, who mailed letters “to all of the pricipal cities in these three states [North and South Carolina and Georgia] to the sports editors of the various newspapers and where names were available to individuals playing badminton.”
The following individuals were elected as officers, with two year terms on the Board of Directors:
President – Henry J. Heffernan, Augusta, GA
Vice President – H.S. McGinty, Winston-Salem, NC
Secretary – Adon N. Smith II, Charlotte, NC
Treasurer – Dean Hammond, Charlote, NC
These additional individuals were elected for one year terms to serve on the Board of Directors:
D. W. Crowell, Winston-Salem, NC
Dr. Harvey Cleckley, Augusta, GA
Miss Julia Pickens, Charlotte, NC
At that first meeting it was moved by a Mr. Dean Hammond that the Southern Badminton Tournament would be held in Charlotte, N.C.  
It is documented that the first Southern Open was held in Charlotte March 8th-11th, 1939, with the second SBA meeting held at the tournament.